PORTAGE COUNTY DEMOCRAT

January 2024 Newsletter



HAPPY 2024 EVERYONE!



On December 22, the Wisconsin Supreme Court ruled in a 4-3 decision that Wisconsin's current maps are unconstitutional. New maps are ordered to be in place in mid March to be used in the 2024 state and national elections. If Republicans refuse to negotiate with Gov. Evers, the WI Supreme Court will hire independent experts to produce fair maps. The revised district lines would put all 132 state lawmakers up for reelection in 2024. This will be a big win for ALL the people of Wisconsin. The next three months will be exciting. Expect more fireworks!!!

General Meeting January 9, 2024, 6:30pm at HQ. Our topic will be the Operational Referendum for the Stevens Point Area Public School District that will be on the April 2, 2024 ballot. The referendum is asking our community to approve an increased revenue limit of \$14 million per year on a recurring basis. Our Guest Speakers will be: SPAPSD Superintendent Dr. Cory Hirsbrunner, assisted



by Chris Nyman, Assistant Superintendent and Director of Elementary Education, Sarah O'Donnell, Director of Communications, and Tom Owens, Director of Business Services. They will address the reasons we need the increase and will be talking about the following issues: First, is the outdated funding formula all Wisconsin schools must use that restricts the amount of money the school district can receive through state general aid and local property taxes, a revenue limit that ranks our district in the bottom third of all Wisconsin districts. Second, SPAPSD does not receive enough revenue from the state to adequately fund programs and services. Third, the increasing needs of our students especially in areas of special ed and mental health that are state mandated are underfunded. And lastly, operational expenses continue to increase, as do a range of other costs that are out of the district's control. There will be time for questions after the presentation. The meeting is open to the public. Bring friends. BE AN INFORMED VOTER

2024 PCDP EXECUTIVE BOARD

Co-Chair Gary Hawley Co-Chair

Joan Garski

1st Vice Chair

Ned Grossnickle

2nd Vice Chair

Karyn Tank

3rd Vice Chair

Jan Wav

4th Vice Chair

Mary Zinda

Secretary

Kathy Celer

Treasurer

OPEN

Statutory Chair

OPEN

3rd CD Rep

Rick Christofferson

At Large

Sam Lang

At Large

Rick Wyman

At Large

Pat Dreese

At Large

OPEN

At Large

OPEN

At Large

OPEN

Membership Chair

Karyn Tank

Finance Committee Chair

Rick Wyman

Events Committee Chair

Joan Garski

Communications Chair

Rick Christofferson

Newsletter Editor

Lynn Wyman

College Dems President

Morgan Lock

PCDP HQ Phone 715-544-6323 ADDRESS

2220 Division St Stevens Point, WI 54481

Our newly elected PCDP 2024 Executive Board is

presented to the left. You will notice the <u>Treasurer's position</u> and <u>Statutory Chair position</u> are both open, as well as <u>three At Large positions</u>. Please consider stepping up! Appointments are easily made to fill empty positions, even after the elections. Training and support will be provided.

Our Holiday Party was a success!

We had a big crowd present to hear greetings and updates from a number of candidates and elected officials. We collected donations for THE

CUPBOARD at UWSP to support our students. And, as you will notice, our table was groaning with good food. A good time was had by all!















Tuesday April 2, 2024 PRESIDENTIAL PREFERENCE VOTE AND SPRING ELECTION

NOTE: There will be a Primary Election on February 20, 2024 in District 2 and District 6 in the City of Stevens Point.

OFFICE	RUNNING FOR RE-ELECTION	CANDIDATES
Stevens Point Area School Board (Vote for 3)	Miguel Campos Meg Ehler Judy Rannow	Bob Larson, Will Scheder, Heide Sorensen Jim Lepak
City of Stevens Point City Council Alders (even districts only) (a primary in Dist 2 and Dist 6 will be on Feb 20)	District 2: District 4: Lara Broderick District 6: District 8: Dean Shuda District 10:	Jacqui Guthrie, Craig Tesch, Cole Verbeten Chris Tiffany, Jason Behrendt, Dale Steinmetz Chris Donohoo Dustin Buse, Bob Larson
Village of Plover Trustees	1 st Ward Adam Raabe 2 nd Ward Tim Durigan 3 rd Ward Al Tessmann	(no opposing candidates for Ward 1, 2, or 3)
County Supervisors (all seats are up for re-election) NOTE: Information concerning county supervisory district boundaries may be obtained from the Portage County Clerk 1516 Church Street Stevens Point, WI 54481, or co.portage.wi.gov	District 1: Vincent Miresse District 2: Cris Doubek District 3: Mark Hemmrich District 4: David Medin District 5: Julie Morrow District 6: Shaun Przybylski District 7: Dave Ladick District 8: Joan M. Honl District 9: Andrew Rockman District 10: Bob Gifford District 11: Stan Potocki District 12: Mike Splinter District 13: Donald Jankowski District 14: Pat Keller District 15: Al Haga District 16: Steve Fritz District 17: Suzanne Oehlke District 18: Larry Raikowski District 19: Scott Soik District 20: District 21: Jeanne Dodge District 22: Matthew J Jacowski District 23: Barry Jacowski District 24: Steve Cieslewicz District 25: David L. Peterson	Stephen Klein Janell Wehr Keith Kedrowski Timothy Johnson David Eiden Mary Rosicky Karin Sieg Chris Randazzo Nancy Eggleston John Bertelson Jackie Szehner, Bob Pahmeier Amberle Schwartz James Yetter Ray Reeser

The Stevens Point/Plover Joint Municipal Court Judge seat is also up for reelection in 2024. Erik J. McFarland last won the seat in 2020 and will seek re-election.



Portage County Democratic Party 2220 Division St. Stevens Point, WI 54481

www.portagecountydems.org

Facebook: PortageCountyWIDems

X (Twitter): PortageCoWIDems@portagecountywidems

Instagram: pocowidems



PCDP General Meeting

January 9, 2024, 6:30pm at HQ

<u>Guest Seaker</u>: Dr. Cory Hirsbrunner, Superintendent

of SPAPSD, and Administrative Staff

<u>Topic</u>: Operational Referendum on April 2 ballot: an informational presentation about the financial needs of SPAPSD, with time for

questions and answers afterwards

January 9, Law Enforcement Appreciation Day

January 15, Martin Luther King Day

January 27, International Holocaust Remembrance Day

Coffee and Conversation

10am Wednesdays at HQ, Beverages provided Authorized and paid for by Portage County Democratic Party